It was a successful experiment: for the first time a “Blockchain MasterClass” was held during the “IT-Strategietage” in Hamburg. The responses was very good – due to high demand the space for the class had to be expanded twice. The participating IT managers came from an impressive spectrum of industries: automotive, finance, medical, media, real estate, trade and transport logistics were represented.

Frank Bolten started the MasterClass with a brief introduction that focused on the tension between “private” and “public” blockchains and the fascinating possibilities of token-based economies. Furthermore, Frank gave an overview of useful tools to support the evaluation of use cases, where blockchains might be helpful. The next presentation focused on the technical aspects of blockchains.

Volker Skwarek, Professor at the HAW Hamburg and a technical adviser to CHAINSTEP, gave an overview of how blockchains are technically defined. This was followed by an introduction to smart contracts. A key element was a list of criteria that help to decide under which circumstances smart contracts should be used. In the following explanation Volker Skwarek concentrated on Industry 4.0 applications. This was followed by a live demonstration that illustrated how a smart contract works on the blockchain. The exchange after the presentation highlighted the current importance of this topic.

The third part of the MasterClass was taught by Sebastian Beyer, product manager at CERTIVATION. It is the latest spin-off of the ROSEN Group. With help from CHAINSTEP they launched their new service “BEC” (blockchain ensured certificates) just in time to present it at the Blockchain MasterClass – it was a world premiere. Please find more information on the BEC service in a separate blog post on this site (here).

All three presentations shown during the MasterClass you find below.

Blockchain MasterClass

, , ,

Es war ein gelungenes Experiment: erstmals wurde im Rahmen der IT-Strategietage Hamburg eine Blockchain MasterClass ausgerichtet. Der Zuspruch war enorm – auf Grund einer erheblichen Überbuchung musste der Teilnehmer-Raum zweimal ausgebaut werden. Und die teilnehmenden IT-Verantwortlichen repräsentierten ein beeindruckendes Spektrum von Branchen: so waren u.a. Automobilbranche, Finanz-, Medien und Immobilienwirtschaft, Medizinwesen, Handel und Transportlogistik vertreten.

Nach einem kurzen Einführungsvortrag von Frank Bolten mit Fokus auf das Spannungsfeld zwischen „public“ und „private“ Blockchains, den faszinierenden Möglichkeiten der Token-Ökonomie und einer Übersicht über Methoden, mit deren Hilfe sinnvolle Blockchain-basierende Use Cases herausgearbeitet werden können, ging es um technische Aspekte.

Hierbei gab Volker Skwarek, Professor an der HAW Hamburg und „Technical Advisor CHAINSTEP“, zunächst eine kompakte Erläuterung wodurch Blockchain technisch gekennzeichnet sind. Anschließend ging er auf Smart Contracts ein. Ein wesentlicher Punkt war hierbei die Erläuterung von Entscheidungskriterien, wann Smart Contracts eingesetzt werden sollten. Hier konzentrierte sich Volker Skwarek sich vor allem auf Industrie 4.0 Anwendungen. Abschließend zeigte er an einem Live-Beispiel, wie ein Smart Contract auf einer Blockchain arbeitet. Die zahlreichen Diskussionsbeiträge im Anschluss verdeutlichten, welchen Stellenwert die Thematik derzeit hat.

Der dritte Part wurde von Sebastian Beyer, Produktmanager von CERTVATION, gestaltet. Auf den Punkt hatte das Spin-off der ROSEN Gruppe den Service „BEC“ (Blockchain Ensured Certificates) fertiggestellt. Auf der Blockchain MasterClass feierte der BEC Service, der mit der Unterstützung von CHAINSTEP entwickelt wurde, somit seine Weltpremiere. Weitere Informationen zum BEC Service in einem separaten Blogbeitrag hier.

Alle drei auf der MasterClass gezeigten Präsentationen sind unten verlinkt.