VDE wants to shape the future, and we were fully involved with the topic of blockchains in the microgrid at the DKE Innovation Campus 2018 on April 12.  Blockchain is one of the main topics that moves standardizers.  More than 270 participants made their way to Hanau, Germany, to discuss technical developments and the resulting requirements for standardization.  After the keynotes and the impulse lectures in the morning, work on the topics continued in the afternoon in three separate tracks.  Blockchain was the core theme of the track we participated in.
Jan Christoph Ebersbach, Blockchain Project Manager at CHAINSTEP, gave a impulse lecture this morning on the use of blockchains in the microgrid of our power supply system.  His message is that the increasing use of renewable energies brings challenges in the area of grid stability, while at the same time the electricity exchanges will have to deal efficiently with tens of thousands of small and medium-sized electricity producers in the future.  Blockchain technology fits these new requirements very well and can become an important infrastructure component in the energy transition.  Jan Christoph presented a series of prototypes and concepts on which industry and research are currently working.  The further presentations in the blockchain track in the afternoon and the positive feedback we received at the congress underline the relevance of blockchains in the microgrid.  See the entire impulse lecture here:
 However, the path to production deployments of blockchains in the microgrid does not only require the commitment of individuals, especially IT-driven companies and researchers.  At the congress it became clear that a stronger cooperation between electrical engineering and computer science is necessary in order to benefit from the potential and find solutions for future challenges.  Our discussions at the Innovation Campus 2018 give us the positive impression that this has been recognized by many and we look forward to contributing our expertise to the process.
Read more about the Innovation Campus here.

Zukunft gestalten, das möchte der VDE und wir waren mit dem Thema Blockchain im Microgrid auf dem DKE Innovation Campus 2018 am 12.04. voll mit dabei.  Blockchain ist eins der Top-Themen, das die Normierer bewegt.  Mehr als 270 Teilnehmer haben sich auf den Weg nach Hanau gemacht, um dort über technische Entwicklungen und die sich daraus ergebenden Anforderungen an die Normung in den Dialog zu treten.  Nach den Keynotes und den Impulsvorträgen am Vormittag, wurde am Nachmittag in drei separaten Tracks an den Themen weiter gearbeitet.  Blockchain war das Kernthema des Tracks, an dem wir teilgenommen haben.
Jan Christoph Ebersbach, Blockchain Project Manager bei CHAINSTEP, referierte am Vormittag in einem Impulsvortrag zum Einsatz von Blockchains im Microgrid unserer Stromversorgung.  Seine Botschaft ist, dass die zunehmende Nutzung von erneuerbaren Energien Herausforderungen im Bereich der Netzstabilität mit sich bringt, gleichzeitig müssen die Strombörsen zukünftig mit zigtausenden von mittleren und kleinen Stromproduzenten effizient umgehen.  Blockchain-Technologie passt sehr gut zu diesen neuen Anforderungen und kann eine wichtige Infrastrukturkomponente in der Energiewende werden.  Jan Christoph präsentierte dazu eine Reihe von Prototypen und Konzepten, an denen Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft aktuell arbeiten.  Die weiteren Präsentationen im Blockchain-Track am Nachmittag und das positive Feedback, das wir auf dem Kongress bekommen haben, unterstreichen die Relevanz von Blockchains im Microgrid.  Sehen Sie den gesamten Impulsvortag hier:
Der Weg zum produktiven Einsatz von Blockchains im Microgrid erfordert aber nicht nur das Engagement Einzelner, insbesondere IT-getriebener Unternehmen und Forscher.  Auf dem Kongress wurde deutlich, dass eine stärkere Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Elektrotechnik und der Informatik notwendig ist, um die Potenziale zu entfalten und Lösungen für die zukünftigen Herausforderungen zu finden.  Unsere Gespräche auf dem Innovation Campus 2018 stimmen uns positiv, dass dies von vielen erkannt wurde und wir freuen uns darauf unsere Expertise in den Prozess mit einzubringen.
Lesen Sie hier mehr zum Rückblick auf den Innovation Campus.