The German government is pushing ahead with the development of its blockchain strategy. On the one hand, institutions and companies had the opportunity until the end of March 2019 to present their views on fields of application and challenges with regard to technology as well as economic, ecological and legal issues at an “Online Consultation for the Development of the Federal Government’s Blokchain Strategy”.
In addition, the Federal Ministry of Finance invited around 30 experts to a “Workshop on Blockchain Technology” at Bundesdruckerei on 26 March. Photos were not permitted during the workshop – for security reasons, the cameras of all smartphones and computers were masked before entering the well-secured premises.Participants were also asked not to disclose any details of the workshop to the outside world.
The clearly positive attitude of the experts on the part of the authorities was pleasing. During the discussions about potentials, limits and applications of blockchain technology, it became clear that in many areas (open) standards, interoperability and governance structures are gaining in relevance.
The “Workshop on Blockchain Technology” of the Federal Ministry of Finance was a sensible and, in our opinion, a good step towards the formulation of a future-oriented blockchain strategy of the Federal Government.

Die Bundesregierung treibt die Ausarbeitung ihrer Blockchain-Strategie voran. Zum einem hatten Institutionen und Unternehmen bis Ende März 2019 die Gelegenheit bei einer „Online-Konsultion zur Erarbeitung der Blokchain-Strategie der Bundesregierung“ ihre Sichtweise zu Anwendungsfeldern und zu Herausforderungen hinsichtlich Technologie sowie ökonomischer, ökologischer und rechtlicher Fragestellungen einbringen.

Des weiteren lud das Bundesfinanzministerium  für den 26. März rund 30 Experten zu einem „Workshop zur Blockchain-Technologie“ in die Bundesdruckerei. Fotos während des Workshops waren nicht gestattet – zur Sicherheit wurden die Kameras aller Smartphones und Rechner vor Betreten der gut abgesicherten Räumlichkeiten abgeklebt.

Auch wurden die Teilnehmer gebeten, keine Details des Workshops nach außen zu geben. Erfreulich war die klar positive Grundhaltung der Fachleute auf der Behördenseite. Bei den Diskussionen rund um Potentiale, Grenzen und Anwendungen von Blockchain-Technologie wurde deutlich, dass in vielen Bereichen (offene) Standards, Interoperabilität und Governance-Strukturen deutlich an Relevanz gewinnen.

Der „Workshop zur Blockchain-Technologie“ des Bundesfinanzministeriums war ein sinnvoller und nach unserer Einschätzung guter Schritt zur Formulierung einer zukunftsorientierten Blockchain-Strategie des Bundes.