More than 170 interested people gathered in mid-June at the Bucerius Law School in Hamburg for the very first DISTRIBUTE Blockchain conference. CHAINSTEP participated in the “hands-on” event as asponsor and lecturer at the premiere in the Hansestadt.

Managing Partner Frank Bolten opened the round of nearly 20 lectures after the keynote by organizer Tobias Worzyk. The main focus of his presentation (click here for charts) was the question of how production processes can be made safe and comprehensible using blockchains. 3D printing in particular offers fascinating possibilities, but also has many practical challenges. The SAMPL project, sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology, examines precisely these questions: What industrial product does the security feature require? The following video provides a first impression of how production data can be printed securely, on demand, faster and more cost-effectively using Ethereum.

 

Lucas Cremer presented his vision of blockchain use in the energy sector with METERIZE. Up to now, tenants have seen an oligopool made up of manufacturers and readers. In Germany, four companies dominate 80 percent of the market. With use of new technology like Blockchain instead, end users and producers could at any time directly exchange data and payments. In an intermediate step, Cremer wants to enable billing per house unit and then automatically allocating and settling the expenditures internally. After his lecture, the prototype received a fresh intake at the CHAINSTEP booth in the foyer by the visitors.

View of the CHAINSTEP booth @ DISTRIBUTE.

The successful conference premiere was rounded off by an intensive panel discussion. Prof. Dr. Philipp Sandner (Frankfurt School of Finance & Management), Dr. Michal Merz (Ponton) and Burkhard Blechschmidt (Cognizant) focused together with host Tobias Worzyk on the current domestic hurdles for fast and practical blockchain applications. On the one hand, companies would have little interest in abolishing existing cash-cows by means of the new technology. On the other hand, the German and European data protection with its “right to forget” is at odds with the unchangeability and transparency of Blockchain solutions.

Later that day it was announced that CHAINSTEP (together with other individuals and companies as founding members) will form a Blockchain association, which aims to get in touch with policy makers and politicians to prevent harmful legislation on the new technology.

Mehr als 300 Interessierte fanden sich Mitte Juni zur allerersten Blockchain-Konferenz DISTRIBUTE an der Bucerius Law School zusammen. CHAINSTEP war bei der „hands-on“-Veranstaltung als Sponsor und Vortragende bei der Premiere in der Hansestadt dabei.

Managing Partner Frank Bolten eröffnete nach der Keynote von Organisator Tobias Worzyk den Reigen von knapp 20 Vorträgen. Im Mittelpunkt seiner Präsentation stand die Frage, wie Produktionsprozesse mittels Blockchain sicher und nachvollziehbar gemacht werden können. Insbesondere der 3D-Druck bietet faszinierende Möglichkeiten, birgt aber auch viele praktische Herausforderungen. Im vom Bundeswirtschaftsministerum geföderten SAMPL-Projekt wird genau diesen Fragen nachgegangen, etwa: Welches industrielle Produkt braucht welches Sicherheitsmerkmal? Das nachfolgende Video liefert einen ersten Eindruck davon, wie Produktionsdaten mit Hilfe von Ethereum sicher, on demand, schneller und günstiger gedruckt werden können.

Lucas Cremer präsentierte etwas später dann mit METERIZE seine Vision von der Blockchain-Nutzung im Energiebereich. Bisher sehen sich Mieter einem Oligopool aus Herstellern und Ablesern gegenüber, in Deutschland beherrschen vier Firmen 80 Prozent des Marktes. Stattdessen könnten Endverbraucher und Produzenten irgendwann direkt Daten und Zahlungen austauschen. In einem Zwischenschritt will Cremer die Abrechnung pro Hauseinheit ermöglichen und die Verbräuche dann intern automatisiert zuordnen und begleichen. Nach seinem Vortrag erhielt der Prototyp am CHAINSTEP-Stand im Foyer regen Zulauf.

Blick auf den CHAINSTEP-Stand während der DISTRIBUTE.

Abgerundet wurde die gelungene Premiere von einer intensiven Paneldiskussion. Prof. Dr. Philipp Sandner (Frankfurt School of Finance), Dr. Michal Merz (Ponton) und Burkhard Blechschmidt (Cognizant) thematisierten unter Leitung von Tobias Worzyk vorallem die derzeitigen Hürden für schnelle praktische Blockchain-Anwendungen. Einerseits hätten Firmen wenig Interesse bestehende Cash-Cows durch die neue Technik abzuschaffen, andererseits steht der deutsche und europäische Datenschutz mit seinem „Recht auf Vergessen“ der u.a. auf Unveränderbarkeit und Transparenz basierenden Blockchain-Lösungen entgegen. Auch deshalb ist CHAINSTEP Teil des sich in Gründung befindlichen „Branchenverband Blockchain“, um rechtzeitig mit der Politik über diese und andere Fragen ins Gespräch zu kommen.