A high-ranking visitor to the Digital Hub Logistics: on 7 December 2018, Michael Westhagemann, the Senator for Economic Affairs in office just a few weeks ago, visited the innovation factory for logistics in Hamburg’s Speicherstadt warehouse district. Johannes Berg, Managing Director of the Hub, surprised our guest with a gift: “Senator Westhagemann will receive an “honorary job” at the Digital Hub Logistics for 2019. The gift was well received, as this tweet shows:

On behalf of all the “Hubbers”, I think I can say that we enjoyed the humorous speech by Senator Westhagemann that followed. His interest in and obvious pleasure in technology, as evidenced by his many years of top management experience in the IT environment, is certainly an excellent basis for Hamburg’s further development of innovative, technology-supported topics.

Senator Westhagemann then took an impressive amount of time to present various start-up concepts. CHAINSTEP had the opportunity to jointly present to the Kroschke Group (a leading service provider in the field of vehicle registration) the jointly developed prototype “carTRUST” for blockchain-based secure online registration of motor vehicles. Senator Westhagemann was very interested in the idea of piloting the concept for the first time in Hamburg – also with a view to the ITS World Congress 2021. Next steps have already been discussed, we are very curious whether we can manage it :-).

Hoher Besuch im Digital Hub Logistics: am 7. Dezember 2018 besuchte der gerade erst seit wenigen Wochen im Amt befindliche Wirtschaftssenator Michael Westhagemann die Innovationsschmiede für Logistik in der Hamburger Speicherstadt. Johannes Berg, Geschäftsführer des Hub, überraschte unseren Gast mit einem Geschenk: Senator Westhagemann erhält für Jahr 2019 einen „Ehren-Arbeitsplatz“ im Digital Hub Logistics. Das Geschenk kam gut an, wie dieser Tweet belegt:

Stellvertretend für alle „Hubber“ darf ich glaube ich sagen, dass uns die dann folgende launige Ansprache von Senator Westhagemann Spaß gemacht hat. Sein Interesse und seine offensichtliche Freude an Technologie, ja auch belegt durch seine langjährige Topmanagement-Erfahrung im IT-Umfeld, ist sicher eine hervorragende Basis für die weitere Entwicklung von Hamburg bezüglich innovativer, Technologie-gestützter Themen.

Beeindruckend viel Zeit nahm sich Senator Westhagemann dann bei der Vorstellung von verschiedenen Startup-Konzepten. CHAINSTEP hatte die Gelegenheit, gemeinsam der Kroschke-Gruppe (einem führenden Dienstleister im Bereich der Kfz-Zulassung) den gemeinsam entwickelten Prototyp „carTRUST“ für die Blockchain-basierte sichere online-Zulassung von Kraftfahrzeugen vorzustellen. Senator Westhagemann zeigte sich sehr interessiert an der Idee, das Konzept – auch im Hinblick auf den ITS World Congress 2021– erstmals in Hamburg zu pilotieren. Nächste Schritte sind bereits besprochen, wir sind sehr gespannt, ob wir das hinbekommen :-).